A recipe for good presentations

 Adrian WallworkによるEnglish for presentations at international conferences (Springer, 2010)は,これから研究成果を発表する学生の皆さんにお薦めの一冊です.プレゼンテーションスライドを作成する前に確認しておくべきこととして挙げられた内容を簡単に纏めてみました.
A recipe for good presentations (from English for presentations at international conferences by Adrian Wallwork, Springer, 2010)
  1. Identify your key points (three or four).
  2. Prepare a two-minute talk (and write some notes for it).
  3. Expand into a longer presentation. It might help you to organize what you want to say if you include short answers to the following questions:
  • Why did I choose this topic in general? Why am I enthusiastic about it? What can I tell the audience that they probably don’t know but that they will find interesting? How can I make it interesting to those attendees who are not experts in this field?
  • What motivated me to decide to test a particular hypothesis or investigate a particular aspect? Was I stimulated by someone else’s research?
  • What did I do to test the hypothesis/aspect (i.e., a description of your methodology)? What problems did I have during the design and testing phases? (These problem may be even more interesting to the audience than the successes, so think about the strengths and weakness of your approach.)
  • What did I find? And what did I not find? Did my findings confirm my initial hypothesis? Were there any inconsistencies or surprises?
  • What is the significance of my work in the big picture of my field of interest? How and where can my findings be applied?
  • What questions do I still have? What am I planning to do next? (Plus a reminder to the audience of most important results so far.)